Music

I listen to music but I can’t really claim I am a total enthusiast. Most of the time I can’t even tell genres apart! Musicals ARE my ultimate favourite thing but to say I can’t live without music is an over statement.

Several Muslims believe it is not good to listen to music as it tends to ‘melalaikan’ a person from performing their obligatory prayers, having appropriate behaviours and such. Yet, some would beg to differ. I, myself,  listen to music for very few reasons and at very specific times too:

  • I listen to music when I am driving as it sorta keeps me awake and alert on long drives, especially when I am alone. The (off tune) singing is great too, until the car next to you notices your little concerto.
  • I listen to music when I am studying – especially when I’m writing notes for examinations and assignments. It works for me as a background stimulant to keep me on it for long periods of time. However, when I am memorizing or trying to remember points, no music.
  • I listen to music when I am doing the housework. This, I noticed, is something I took on from my mother.
  • I listen to music when I am writing, blogging. I can’t listen to music when I am reading a book though. I can’t even read and listen to hear anyone talking to me, what more music!

These are just about the times I listen to music! And I realized that my taste in music is very selective: there isn’t a particular genre or theme or language. It was more about lyrics or how it sounded, or how it moved from slow to fast and then back. I also noticed that most of my music are OST (original soundtracks)!

I’ve prepared a list of the songs that’s on my ITunes, a total of 104 songs, 6 hours and 41 minutes. Let’s see if we like listening to the same kinds of music or artist!

  1. Days in the Sun – Beauty & The Beast OST
  2. How does a moment last forever – Beauty & The Beast OST
  3. Evermore – Beauty & The Beast OST
  4. In my life – Les Miserables OST
  5. A heart full of love – Les Miserables OST
  6. On My Own – Lea Solanga (Les Miserables OST)
  7. How Far I’ll Go – Moana OST
  8. Logo Te Pate – Moana OST
  9. We Know the Way – Moana OST
  10. I am Moana – Moana OST
  11. You’re Welcome – Moana OST
  12. The Skye Boat Song – Outlander OST
  13. The Marriage Contract – Outlander OST
  14. The Wedding – Outlander OST
  15. I wanna be like you – The Jungle Book OST
  16. The Bare Necessities – The Jungle Book OST
  17. Just the way you are – Bruno Mars
  18. Marry You – Bruno Marks
  19. Young Girls – Bruno Mars
  20. When I Was Your Man – Bruno Mars
  21. Young, Wild & Free – Bruno Mars feat Snoop Dog, Qiz Khalifa
  22. Blank Page – Christina Aguilera
  23. Just a Fool – Christina Aguilera
  24. Viva La Vida – Coldplay
  25. Fix You – Coldplay
  26. The Scientist – Corinne Bailey Rae (Fifty Shades Darker OST)
  27. I don’t Wanna Live Forever – Taylor Swift & Zayn (Fifty Shades Darker OST)
  28. Love Me Like You Do – Ellie Goulding (Fifty Shades of Grey OST)
  29. Danza Kuduro – Don Omar & Lucenzo
  30. All of the Stars – Ed Sheeran (The Fault in Our Stars OST)
  31. Shape of You – Ed Sheeran
  32. Photograph – Ed Sheeran
  33. Thinking Out Loud – Ed Sheeran
  34. Big When I was Little – Eliza Doolittle
  35. Still Falling for You – Ellie Goulding (Bridget Jone’s Baby OST)
  36. Take me to Church – Hozier
  37. Because I miss you – Hwang Chi Yeol (Moonlight Drawn by Clouds OST)
  38. Nobody’s Perfect – Jessie J
  39. Out from Under – Joanna (Bratz OST)
  40. No Air – Jordin Sparks feat Chris Brown
  41. To Where You Are – Josh Groban
  42. February Song – Josh Groban
  43. Issues – Julia Michaels
  44. On Top of The World – Justin Nault (cover of Imagine Dragons)
  45. Need you Now – Lady Antebellum
  46. Judas – Lady Gaga
  47. Speechless – Lady Gaga
  48. Joanne – Lady Gaga
  49. Million Reason –Lady Gaga
  50. You & I – Lady Gaga
  51. Young & Beautiful – Lana Del Rau (The Great Gatsby OST)
  52. Blinded by Love – Lenka
  53. Secret Love Song – Little Mix feat Jason Derulo
  54. You’re Not There – Lukas Graham
  55. Battle Scars – Guy Sebastian feat Lupe Fiasco
  56. Primadonna – Marina & The Diamonds
  57. All I Ask of You – Phantom of the Opera OST
  58. I do Adore – Mindy Gledhill
  59. Starlight – Muse
  60. Song of the Sea (Lullaby) – Nolwenn Leroy (Song of the Sea OST)
  61. A Winter Story – The One (That Winter The Winter Blows OST)
  62. Apologize – One Republic
  63. Just Like Fire – Pink (Alice Through the Looking Glass OST)
  64. Try – Pink
  65. Just Give me a Reason – Pink
  66. Only Love Can Hurt Like This – Paloma Faith
  67. Decode – Paramore (Twilight OST)
  68. Ain’t it Fun – Paramore
  69. Still into You – Paramore
  70. We are Broken – Paramore
  71. Big Blonde and Beautiful – Queen Latifah (Hairspray OST)
  72. Locked Away – Adam Levine feat R. City
  73. Stand by You – Rachel Platen
  74. Rise – Rebekah Withakay
  75. Pieces – Rob Thomas
  76. Lost Boy – Ruth B
  77. I Found Peace – Ruth Barett (Wuthering Heights 2009 OST)
  78. Titanium – Sam Tsui (Cover Sia)
  79. I Choose You – Sara Bareilles
  80. Fall for You – Secondhand Serenade
  81. Angel by the Wings – Sia
  82. Salted Wounds – Sia (Fifty Shades of Grey OST)
  83. Bird Set Free – Sia
  84. Unstoppable – Sia
  85. House on Fire – Sia
  86. Cheap Thrills – Sia
  87. The Greatest – Sia
  88. Chandelier – Sia
  89. Elastic Heart – Sia
  90. Fire Meet Gasoline – Sia
  91. I think God Can Explain – Splender (Dawson’s Creek OST)
  92. Everything Has Changed – Taylor Swith feat Ed Sheeran
  93. Begin Again – Taylor Swift
  94. You Ruin Me – The Veronicas
  95. Let me Out – The Veronicas
  96. Love in This Club – Usher feat Young Jeezy
  97. Crush – Usher
  98. You Exist in My Song – Wanting
  99. Love Struck Me Down – Wanting
  100. Unsteady – X Ambassadors (Me Before You OST)
  101. Only One – Yellow Card
  102. Umthwalo – Zahara
  103. Loliwe- Zahara
  104. Ndize – Zahara

From the list, you should be able to tell my favorite singers are also Paramore, Lady Gaga and Sia. I am also a big fan of Imagine Dragons. But I have their CD in the car and most of the time I listen to it on long drives, so I don’t put them in my Macbook/phone.  I am also a big fan of Bruno Mars and I have nearly all his CDs – in the car!

Wanna know which songs I listen to the most and keep on repeat? Here’s the Top 10:

  1.  A Winter Story – That Winter the Wind Blows OST = 133 times
  2. Logo Te Pate – Moana OST = 109 times
  3. Locked Away – Adam Levine feat R Ciry = 102 times
  4. You’re Welcome – Moana OST = 89 times
  5. No Air – Jordin Sparks feat Chris Brown = 83 times
  6. Need You Now – Lady Antebellum = 76 times
  7. Stand by You – Rachel Platten = 75 times
  8. Secret Love Song – Jason Derulo feat Little Mix = 73 times
  9. The Marriage Contract – Outlander OST = 71 times
  10. The Wedding – Outlander OST = 69 time

A Winter Story is from Korean hit drama, That Winter the Wind Blows. This is my go to emo song! Then again I have a few Go-to-Emo-Song. Someone once borrowed my iPod and said my songs were so depressing. Hahahaha! Doesn’t hurt that I like songs with meaningful lyrics or crappy lyrics but sad, slow melodies.

More:

My go-to Emo Song (the kind of songs you listen to when you need to tambah tears):

  • A Winter Story – The One (That Winter the Wind Blows OST)
  • I Found Peace (Piano) – Ruth Barett (Wuthering Heights 2009 OST)
  • Let Me Out – The Veronicas
  • You Ruin Me – The Veronicas
  • Just a Fool – Christina Aguilera feat Blake Sheldon
  • When I was Your Man – Bruno Mars
  • The Wedding – Bear McCreary (Outlander OST)

 

 Feel Good Happy Song:

  • Still Into You – Paramore
  • Viva La Vida – Coldplay
  • On Top of the World – Imagine Dragons
  • Young, Wild & Free – Bruno Mars feat Snoop Dog, Qiz Khalifa
  • Love in This Club – Usher feat Young Jeezy
  • Marry You – Bruno Mars
  • Loliwe – Zahara
  • Danza Kuduro – Don Omar & Lucenzo

 

Empowering Song (to tambah semangat bila feel down & need to boost self-confidence)

  • Angel by the Wings – Sia
  • Big Blonde & Beautiful – Queen Latifah (Hairspray OST)
  • Still Falling For You – Ellie Golding
  • Bird Set Free – Sia

 

You must have also noticed that Moana is among the top favorites! That is because Moana is among my most favorite Disney cartoon/musical of all time! And Daniel loves it too, hence, it’s usually on repeat in my car when I’m alone with him – it keeps him occupied. I have a playlist called ‘DANIEL’ where all the Disney OSTs are saved in such The Jungle Book, Beauty & The Beast and Moana! Fancy that, I’m so happy my son share my taste in music, LOLS….

Which among my lists are your personal favorites too?

One comment

  1. I should write about my favourite songs too! HAHA

    Like

Leave a Reply

