Homemade Soba Noodles

I decided to make a simple dish of hot, soba noodles today for my lunch. I’m actually a big fan of soba, especially cold, Cha Soba! There are times where I would just want to have a big plate of cold soba and nothing else. Here’s the really simple recipe and how to get it done in a jiffy!

I cannot recommend exactly the amount of water to use but I made a huge bowl of soup (1 very large serving) because I just love soup. To be honest, my soup was also kind of light, but I like it that way too! Please adjust the amount of stock powder and soba soup base according to your preference when you’re making yours!

I purchased the stock powder (and soba noodles) at Aeon supermarket whereas the Soba Soup Base is available at Shojikiya, those little shops that sell Japanese food products. I am only aware of their outlets at Empire Subang, Mid Valley and Sunway Pyramid. So if you need to get this, do Google to find one near you. The same soup base also makes the rich, thicker soup to be eaten with cold soba!

For this, I made enough soba noodles and vegetables for three servings; only because I prefer to have less noodles and more vegetables. But the soba packaging actually stated that one portion of dried soba was enough for two servings! YIKES! That’s a lot of noodles!

You can substitute shiitake for enoki or oyster mushrooms according to your preference. I like shiitake because it has a strong, Japanese-y flavor to it. Instead of coriander, you can garnish with spring onions, those Japanese fish cakes, seaweed or bonito flakes. These were the only things I had at home at that moment!

 

Ingredients:

  • Cabbage – julienne
  • Carrots – julienne
  • Spinach (Bayam)
  • Shiitake mushrooms
  • Coriander
  • 1 tbsp Stock powder
  • 3 tbsp Soba Sauce
  • Soba Noodles
  • 1 hard boiled egg

 

Method: 

  1. Blanch vegetables according to your preference.
  2. Cook the soba noodles (like you would with pasta).
  3. To make soup, combine the stock powder and soba sauce together with some water. Add shiitake and let it simmer for a bit.
  4. Put cooked soba in a bowl and top with blanched vegetables. Pour soup over, garnish with coriander and the egg.

Best served hot!

Simple, right? No reason not to make ’em now! Do share them with me (tag me on Instagram at @leemishael!) if you’ve tried this recipe!

img_2064-1

 

Leave a Reply

