Manicai Bee Hoon

Manicai or also known as pucuk manis (cangkuk manis to Sarawakians),  has always been my favorite vegetable. My father had always planted this wherever we live, from Muar to Kuching to Ipoh, so I had an abundance of this to eat whenever I get home.
img_4617
Mani cai is typically fried with egg and eaten with rice and other dishes too. But this bee hoon dish is also my favorite! I have no idea where to find this here in Peninsular Malaysia so I made this for iftar today.

I found this huge vermicelli noodles at Jaya Grocer the other day so I decided that I would one day cook it for iftar.

 

I honestly do not cook by measuring all my ingredients – I taste as I go but here’s a rough recipe of it:

Ingredients: (roughly for 5-6 people)

  • 1 bulb of garlic, chopped
  • An inch of ginger
  • (Feel free to add onions if you like)
  • 1 carrot, julienne
  • Chicken breast, cubed
  • Prawns, chopped
  • Mani cai
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 pack of vermicelli


Seasoning: 

  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp oyster sauce
  • 1 cube of anchovie stock
  • A wee bit of water

(I added the leftover fish balls from lunch, so this is really up to u)

Method: 

First, cook the vermicelli al dente, drain, rinse with cold water and set aside. Fry the garlic and ginger in some oil. Add chicken cubes and prawns, followed by carrots. I added just a bit of water here and closed the wok with a lid to cook the carrot thoroughly. Then add the manicai and eggs, closed the lid again and cook for a few more minutes. Once done, add seasoning and vermicelli. Stir fry until the water reduces. I didn’t add salt at all, but that’s because we don’t really take salty food at home. Go according to your taste, yeah.

The amount of water you add to the seasoning also depends on what kind of vermicelli you are using. This giant ones are firmer so it really doesn’t matter if you overcook them. If you are using those fine ‘mee siam’ ones, best not to add too much or your beehoon will be ‘lembik’. Works well for Suhoor too as it’s easy to take in so early in the morning.

And best served hot! Good luck trying!  Tag me on Instagram @leemishael if you do and Ramadhan Kareem!

2 comments

  1. the mee looks really sedap! but senang to separate tak? I usually malas want to buy mee hoon because it’s troublesome to separate if wanna cook separuh je haha

    Like

  2. Atiqah Sulaiman · · Reply

    CANGKUK MANIS YES PLEASE! The first veggie dish that I like and actually learned how to cook. Thanks Munch. I still remember sitting on a tong gas and watch you work your magic in the kitchen. Haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

